Gluten Free Foodies
Celebrate the foods that you can eat!
Centerplate, the exclusive caterer for Safeco Field, is going to offer more fresh, local, healthy and YES ... believe it or not ... affordable options.
The concessions stand at 132 on the Main Concourse has had a makeover during the off season and is now also featuring a "healthier" menu offering organic and vegetarian options including - smoothies and Gluten Free "Kind Plus" snack bars.
There are other items mentioned like hand cut fries by Kennebec Potatoes, but it did not say if the fryers are dedicated Gluten Free. Please make sure that you ask and read everything before you consume any food that you don't make but at least the people at Safeco Field and the Mariners are more aware about Gluten Free Foodies like us! THANK YOU !!!
You can read more about this exciting news on the King 5 News web site
April is Autism Awareness month and I thought that I would make a Gluten Free treat to show my support -
Comments Comments Comments Comments Comments
Garlic Jim’s Famous Gourmet Pizza
Gluten-Free Pizza Frequently Asked Questions
1. How does Garlic Jim’s protect against cross-contamination?
Garlic Jim’s has specific procedures in place to protect against cross-contamination. We store our gluten-free (GF) crusts in a separate place in our walk-in coolers and sauce them using dedicated spoodles (combination spoon/ladle) and dedicated sauce containers. We place a GF crust on a dedicated GF screen and use GF peels and cutters to remove the pizza from the oven and cut it prior to delivery or pickup. We also use separate towels to clean our GF pizza cutters to ensure that there is no cross-contamination.
Further, we slap our regular pizzas in a GF flour mix so all the flour flying around in our stores is actually GF.
Our staff is trained to wash their hands before beginning the preparation of a GF pizza and to use special care not to bring the GF crusts into contact with anything that might lead to cross-contamination.
2. How important is the Gluten Free Food Service Accreditation from the Gluten Intolerance Group?
The Gluten Free Food Service Accreditation from the Gluten Intolerance Group is very important because it validates our efforts to maintain an environment free from cross-contamination and assures our valuable gluten-free customers that we are a safe place to enjoy pizza.
3. How many pizza chains have obtained this certification?
As of December 2009, Garlic Jim’s Famous Gourmet Pizza was the only pizza chain to receive Gluten Free Food Service Accreditation from the Gluten Intolerance Group of North America.
4. What about all the flour I see flying around the store and on aprons, etc.?
All the flour flying around the store and being used to slap our regular pizzas is actually gluten-free. It’s a special mix made for Garlic Jim’s that consists of rice and corn meal.
5. What are the ingredients of Garlic Jim’s gluten-free pizza crust?
Rice flour, tapioca flour, water, potato flour, potato flakes, olive oil, sugar, yeast, salt and seasonings.
6. Is there soy in the gluten-free crust?
There is no soy in our gluten-free pizza crust.
7. Are there dairy products in the gluten-free crust?
There are no dairy products in our gluten-free pizza crust.
8. Are there nuts in the gluten-free crust?
There are no nuts in our gluten-free pizza crust. However, one of our specialty pizzas uses cashew nuts as an ingredient (the Nutty Chipotle).
9. Does Garlic Jim’s maintain a nut-free environment in its stores?
One of our specialty pizzas (the Nutty Chipotle) uses cashew nuts as an ingredient. We try to minimize any cross-contamination but cannot guarantee that there will not be contact with cashew nuts.
10. Is the gluten-free crust vegan?
Garlic Jim’s gluten-free crust is vegan as it contains no animal products or by-products.
11. Are Garlic Jim’s toppings all gluten-free?
All of Garlic Jim’s toppings are gluten-free.
12. Are Garlic Jim’s sauces all gluten-free?
Garlic Jim’s sauces are gluten-free with one exception. Our Garlic Basil sauce DOES contain gluten and therefore our Jim’s Garlic Chicken Pizza is not gluten-free unless it is made without the Garlic Basil sauce.
13. What other Garlic Jim’s menu items are gluten-free?
Garlic Jim’s BBQ wings, Ribs, Gourmet Cheesecake and certain flavors of Haagen-Dazs ice cream are all gluten-free.
14. Is there a coating on the BBQ wings and if so, what is used instead of wheat?
Our BBQ wings are glazed with: pepper sauce (aged cayenne pepper, vinegar, salt), soybean oil, water, nonfat dry milk, xanthan gum and propylene glycol alginate. They do contain SOY and MILK.
15. Are there plans for more gluten-free products?
We are always looking for gluten-free products to add to our menu and welcome suggestions from our customers.
This was sent to me by one of my local Gluten Free Foodies. She had some specific concerns, questions and contacted the company. She forwarded the information above from the company.
Now Serving Gluten Free Pizza!!!
My favorite words ...
Good to the last slice ...
Great sign too!
Happy 6 years to Garlic Jim's Pizza ... I can't believe it took this long for me to fall for you! I am head over heels for your pizza! Enter to win their contest online to win FREE PIZZA!